top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabali Wanjiku

5 IMPORTANT LESSONS OF 2018

Updated: Jan 13, 2020


Lessons of 2018- Wellness with Sabali

This year comes to an end in a couple of days and a lot of self-reflection is required to just take a look at how the year has been and the most important lessons learnt in 2018. The lessons I learnt were more than 5. This list of 5 is the top and most relatable lessons that we could all benefit from getting into 2019.


1. PRACTICE SELF-CARE

In 2018 I got rid of the idea that self-care is an event. In the past, I would view self-care as getting my nails or hair done, buying a new pair of shoes or going on a trip. My list was clearly very limited. I, however, discovered that taking care of myself took various forms and that I could now incorporate it as a practice. Self-care could look like journaling on one day and taking a walk on another. I had to learn that I needed to be intentional about taking care of my physical as well as mental. This has been fruitful and has made me more productive, calmer, graceful, content and confident and even gave me the strength to take care of those around me.


2. FORGIVING SELF

We are only human and we are bound to fail and go wrong. We are open to forgiving others when they wrong us but rarely do we forgive ourselves. 2018 has taught me not to be so hard on myself. I have learnt to forgive myself for slipping up, entertaining toxic people, failing to meet my goals.


Forgiving yourself frees you of guilt and the feeling of being a failure which can limit the great things in store for us in the future. Forgive yourself for the negative thoughts you make yourself believe and you will be surprised how great and stress-free you will feel.


3. STOP SHRINKING

Why dim your beautiful light?

We ought to accept that we are extraordinary people, each with a purpose in this world. Shrinking might feel like the comfortable thing to do but how else will people know of our gifts and talents?


I found this very applicable in the work setting. We often do not want to come off as opinionated or too vocal and we end up shrinking ourselves and our voices so as to fit in.

We should rid ourselves of the fear of saying or doing something wrong because we are only human. In this way, we are free and open to learn and be vocal when we are in agreement or disagreement. Speak up more in that meeting or pitch and let your voice be heard in 2019.


4. CONSISTENCY IS KEY

In 2018 I used some of my me time to look into the dreams I have had over the years. Most of them I let go of months in. Months not years! I learnt that sometimes we let go of valid dreams because of our current situation, a set-back and sometimes because we lack inspiration. Consistency in putting in the effort, time and energy into making a dreamwork is so important. We need to be persistent and allow our dreams some chance and space to grow.


Consistency in all aspects of our lives is to be maintained. We need to be consistent in taking care of our physical and mental health. We owe it to ourselves to be consistent with our targets and goals.

Not all days will be pumped with energy but just doing the best we can every single day is all that is required of us really. So show up and be present.


5. ASKING FOR HELP

This has been one of the hardest lessons learned this year. Asking for help is something that should be considered a bold and powerful thing. The myth that asking for help being a sign of weakness or vulnerability is a thing of the past. I have learnt that asking for help opens me up to more information as well as saves up on time and energy. I also learnt that asking for help boosts the self-confidence of those who get asked to help out as it makes them feel wanted and appreciated.


What have been your major lessons this 2018? Please feel free to share them with me in the comment section.


Cheers to a lovely end to 2018 and a great start to 2019!


Love,

Sabali.

Sabali

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page