top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabali Wanjiku

How to practice conscious eating

Updated: Jan 13, 2020


Conscious eating


I used to live in my mind for a long time before I knew how it affected me. I rarely considered what the other aspects of my existence required from me. Living in my mind was was my way of trying to fix things, even those beyond my control. I will not say it was the easier way to live but it was my normal. I feel things a bit too much and learning how to balance living in my mind and constantly checking in with my body has now taught me that I can find harmony and actually enjoy being in my body more.


I realized a few months ago (through one of Oprah’s podcasts) that there was a relationship between food and spirituality and that being aware of the spirituality aspect to food helps us balance both our body and mind needs. My emotional eating was as a response to my feelings and not because I was hungry. I was eating my feelings and hoping to fill a void with whatever emotion I was dealing with.

b

I had underestimated the role that food plays in my life. You can imagine how much comfort eating I did while I tried to navigate through my teenage years and my early twenties! Learning about the spirituality of food was an eye-opener for me.

Emotional eating involves eating in response


With spirituality comes balance and I had to listen to so many conversations centred towards conscious eating for me to realize that I needed outlets that did not involve food. I needed to invest in permanent fixes and value food as a fuel rather than a way to avoid feeling things.


Conscious Eating

One of the most effective tips shared on Oprah’s podcast was that a great way to control emotional eating is to eat only until I could taste the food and that anything after that is extra and unnecessary. I have found it so effective in that I now enjoy the taste and flavour in food and when I no longer feel that way, I need to stop.


Self-care has also helped me change my view of food. Now things that I would in the past enjoy regardless of their effects on my skin and health generally, I can now avoid without hesitation. I now know that that short pleasurable phase will end and my face will be a mess the whole week thereafter. Self-care activities also keep me engaged and so occupied, my emotions don't drive me to food.


I am also learning how being mindful can contribute to me making better food choices. Being mindful for me involves slowing down and actually being present during my meals. this is from preparation to the eating part. We live in such a fast-paced world and sometimes the easier way is to eat meals that are less costly and sometimes snacks can be used to substitute meals but I have learnt that this only leads to a blotted stomach and regret at the end of the day.


Being mindful for me also means being aware of when I am hungry and when it is just my emotions trying to get me to make a bad food choice. Some of the things I use to tell whether I am experiencing emotional hunger from physical hunger is how sudden it comes. You know how you could be doing something constructive and all of a sudden you get the urge to have some cake and you are not even hungry? That for me is a sign that I need to check what I am going through and be mindful enough to deal with it and not let food be the solution.


Eating with others has helped a great deal. This is, however, a new concept for me. I grew up as a single child and so I had most of the meals by myself. I've learnt that eating with others actually makes meals and exciting time which has helped me get rid of the shame that I used to associate with food.


Another important tip is to use smaller plates for my meals. I come from an African home where growing up, it was unacceptable to leave your plate uncleared and that is something I am yet to unlearn. What I have found to be effective is to use a smaller plate and in that way, clearing my plate is not such a big deal.


Conscious eating

I have learnt how my body works and what foods drain my energy and those I intentionally avoid. I can now confidently say that I can go to festive holidays and eat only what I feel I need to. I tried it last year and I was so proud of myself.


I thought I would share with you some of the tips I have learnt that help me become more conscious about food.


1. Read on healthy foods your body requires. Maureen Kunga’s YouTube channel is a great start. I love how she gives so many alternative ingredients to meals I enjoy that are easily available.


2. Drinking lots of water before meals. I drink water a lot (mostly for my skin) and it helps me reduce the amount of food if I take a glass of water before my meals.


3. Eat only when you are hungry. This is a hard one. It requires discipline but it has helped me cut down on snacks in between meals. I usually make sure I have fruits around the house on weekends and I drink a lot of hot water with honey which works to keep my mind off food until the next meal time.


Conscious eating

4. Be kind to yourself. Conscious eating for me is a choice I have to make every day. Sometimes I am up for it but on some days it gets so hard. I have learnt to get rid of the guilt I associated food with. I feel that this is something that a lot of people go through. This for a long time made me feel guilty for eating certain foods while all that was required of me was to learn moderation and just being aware of what I put in my system and how it makes me feel.



Conscious eating

2019 is another chance for all of us to lead healthy lives from the mind to the body and soul and we need to be healthy for the generations that come after us and that small step you are taking today will contribute to you taking charge of your life. I wish you all a year filled with healthy choices. Stay well and mindful


To health and peace.


Love,

Sabali

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page