top of page
  • Writer's pictureSabali Wanjiku

WHY YOU SHOULD NOT SET NEW RESOLUTIONS THIS 2019

Updated: Jan 13, 2020




2018 has been some year! Everyone I know has gone through something. This year has been one filled with so many lessons for me that months just flew by. If I was not learning how to balance my work and personal life, I was learning how to be patient and persistent. I had some tough months that I am glad I got through thanks to my amazing support system that saw me through.


2019 is just hours away and in this new year, I want to do things differently. You know what they say about doing the same thing and expecting different results. I have learnt that I could be a habitual thinker and this might be the thing I need to change for a better 2019(thanks H.E.R for speaking so much truth in ‘Lord is coming’).


As there is no time like the present, I decided to start by switching a few things up starting from my goal setting for 2019.


A lot of self-searching has led me to the conclusion that my setting new goals each year might be just the reason I quit months in and find the task of setting goals repetitive and monotonous. I give goals that would take years of consistent work a lifespan of 365 days and the pressure to deliver gets to me and I become unable to see my goals through. It is my conclusion that limiting my goals to 12 months stops me from allowing myself to learn through mistakes and acknowledging the steps I have made since I started out.


This is why I have decided that 2019 is going to be the year I revisit the goals I abandoned along the way throughout the years and give them a chance to grow. Surprisingly, most of them are similar and relevant in that they are all geared towards realizing my purpose and taking care of my mind, body and soul.


This is in no way encouraging you to just go with the flow and just ride the 2019 waves as they come (I did this for so many years and it did not help). This is just a reminder that your 2016 goals, those you made in 2017 and 2018 are still valid and deserve to be pursued. All that needs revisiting is the mindset behind setting these goals and a change in strategy in order to realize these goals. Give yourself time to see these amazing goals through and don’t let the calendar make you feel that your baby steps are not enough.


Remember failing to plan is planning to fail.


I would love to wish you a lovely 2018 filled with love, peace and realized goals!


To learning and unlearning.


Love,

Sabali.


32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page